Doug Wilson
Apr 9, 2024

--

Hi, David. Thank you for another interesting and informative article.

I 100% agree that it's important to understand the difference between strategy and tactics, as well as how they interrelate.

In place of strategy being "about organizing concepts and teams" and tactics involving "architecture, patterns, and the way code is implemented", may I suggest a pair of simpler and more general (less tech-specific) definitions?

Strategy defines what a person or organization wants to accomplish. Tactics are the ways they go about it -- the methods they employ to make their goals reality.

Simple.

WHAT do I want to do, perhaps explained with a little bit of why I want to do it -- why it's important?

And HOW am I going to go about it?

--

--

Doug Wilson

Doug Wilson is an experienced software application architect, music lover, problem solver, former film/video editor, philologist, and father of four.